Twitter and apps and stuff

4 Oct

A dull blog. But necessary for technical reasons. If you’re reading it, it’s very likely that I’ve sent you a link so I don’t have to explain myself on twitter.

Every now and then I like to have a bit of a moan about my beloved twitter website and its apps. Partly because I’m a human man but also because I care about twitter and how it works and also I’ve got nothing better to do.

I recently moaned about the number of promoted tweets (it’s around 1 in 10 for me now) on the native twitter apps. Inevitably I get replies saying “Don’t use it then” or “Try this app instead” etc.

Now, the thing is, I know these are well intentioned and meant to be helpful, so thank you for that. However, what they all seem to miss is that we each use and experience twitter in different ways. I am not going to tell you in detail about the various devices I use twitter on, because that would make a dull blog even more mind-numbing.

But, this: Twitter is completely embedded in my life. I use it as a social network (not as much as I used to, regrettably), but I also use it as a creative medium directly (I write on it), as an outlet for work that I create elsewhere (cartoons on my ipad, vines, etc) and I get all sorts of interesting work related proposals, partnerships, commissions etc. from twitter.

I know it’s not cool to be interested in who your latest follower is, how many RTs you got, who RT’d it, who faved it, etc. but then I am not cool, so that’s fine. It just so happens that I like to keep up with that info for the reasons set out in the preceding paragraph and vanity (because I am a human man).

I like to be able to see and access that info in various working conditions and I use a particular set of apps that I’ve honed over the many years I’ve been on twitter to give me that information in a way that suits me. For example I like to be able to see clearly from my drawing desk to another desk where I have an old imac if I’ve got any new interactions but my eyesight’s not so good so the twitter web app is the best one for that because it’s bright and clear. I hope you will see by now that this is a very specific set of conditions which is most likely nothing like the way you use twitter.

Anyway, as I say, I’ve set all this out so that next time I have a moan (which I will) and people reply “Don’t use it then, try Quackbot!” I will send them the link rather than trying to reply to everybody in an ineffectual manner.

FYI I use Tweetbot, Tweetdeck, Twitter app, Twicca, web twitter, Favstar, Storify, Instagram, Vine, and probably some others.

As you were.

Moose

PS I should also add that I am quite colourblind, so many twitter clients are hard to read. So what looks great to you may be unsuitable for someone else.

2 Responses to “Twitter and apps and stuff”

  1. jobrodie October 4, 2014 at 8:43 am #

    Yes, I read Twitter on desktop Twitter dot com (very rarely use desktop Tweetdeck) and on Echofon on my phone. I wish the promoted tweets were less awful – they are just depressingly poor. Either poorly targeted (Royal Marine Commandos which I think excludes women) or just a bit rubbish (there was one from a supermarket asking me to join a hashtagged ‘team’ for a particular pillowcase pattern – teamplaid versus teamwhocares). My strongest feeling on seeing a promoted ad is probably ennui closely followed by irritation. After Tom Scott’s memo I generally reply to them – it seems it costs them money 😉 Also, as with the old Google sidewiki everyone else who clicks on the promoted tweet can see the comments too.

    And, also yes, is there anything more irritating than being told, when asking how to persuade an app to stop doing something, to use a different app. Grrr.

  2. gfschmidt October 4, 2014 at 11:18 am #

    Reblogged this on Mitredner and commented:
    Der zweite Beitrag von Mooseallain beschreibt sehr gut, warum Twitter für manche (auch für mich) ein unentbehrliches Medium geworden ist – und dass es nicht Eitelkeit sein muss, wenn man sich für Retweets und Favs interessiert.

Leave a Reply

