Professional Frittering

31 May

I’m going to have a little moan about wasting time, so I apologise in advance because I HATE MOANING. (That’s not the moan. What a waste of time that would be).

No, my moan is this. Occasionally people say to me in a laughing, friendly way “You’ve obviously got too much time on your hands!” – particularly since I started using the Vine app. (where you can make little 6 second looping videos and share them via twitter).

Now, I know they don’t mean any harm by it, so why does it feel so insulting? Because every time it happens – and it happens enough for me to feel the need to write about it – I feel my dander rising. You have to think about the implications: primarily that whatever it is I’m doing, I could be doing something more useful. Or that I live a life of luxury, able to idle away my time playing around.

The truth is, I don’t feel like I’m wasting my time. I think I’m doing something worthwhile.

For a start, I’m an artist, so I think it’s ok to CREATE THINGS.

Also, I make a lot of the Vines with the help of my children, when I’m looking after them. So I think it’s ok to get them CREATING THINGS too.

Also, I don’t watch a lot of TV. Instead I prefer to CREATE THINGS. And then I share them, mostly on twitter, to entertain people. I think that’s ok too, I don’t think that’s a waste of time.

So, what I’m saying is, how can I put this tactfully… FUCK OFF WITH YOUR ‘TOO MUCH TIME ON YOUR HANDS’.

Ok. Thank you for your time.

Back to work.

Moose

You can see my Vines here – and judge for yourself.

http://seenive.com/u/907409236387045376

6 Responses to “Professional Frittering”

  1. Amanda Porter (Amprev9) June 1, 2013 at 8:22 am #

    Hear hear! As someone who looks after two kids aged 6 and under, I hear this witty remark several hundred times a day. Too much time on my hands! I wiped my kids arse while I was having a shower yesterday…. Keep up the Vining Moose. X

  2. @NaturistAthiest June 2, 2013 at 2:35 pm #

    Don’t beat about the bush, come straight out with it, and say what you mean!
    Anyway; you must have a lot of time on your hands if you can blog about your moans when you could have done something worthwhile, like CREATE THINGS. *Runs for cover*

  3. josieadams June 2, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

    Totally agree.
    I am an artist, my husband is a poet, and we now don’t have to ‘work’ doing stuff we don’t really want to do anymore.
    People say “what do you do with your time”, because we don’t go ‘out’ to work. Why do we have to justify what we do with our time? if you go away on holiday for two weeks to a beach, people don’t ask you what you did with your time – we are just on a permanent holiday now, so we are busy when we are busy, and we enjoy our life and make the most of every minute, not necessarily by ‘doing stuff’ all the time.
    There – you made me rant too 😉

  4. Val June 2, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

    Yep. I know exactly what you mean and I get that too. (Along with the ‘what do you do?’ to which I reply ‘I’m an artist’ and they respond with ‘yes, but what do you really do?’)

  5. patrick © graham (@smile_of_decade) September 26, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    yeassssss

    I get it in the neck for not spending more time in work.. “What do you think you are getting paid for?” and so on…
    I am creating
    relationships and ideas –

Leave a Reply

